This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Jordan

Jordan is made up of 12 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Jordan. Information on all primary administrative regions in Jordan.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Jordan alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Jordan

There are 12 regions in Jordan in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Jordan
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Amman Amman Governorate1.1,972,712Amman Amman1,275,857
Irbid Irbid2.942,069Irbid Irbid307,480
Zarqa Muḩāfaz̧at az Zarqā’3.910,800Zarqa Zarqa792,665
Balqa Muḩāfaz̧at al Balqā’4.409,500As Salt As Salţ80,189
Mafraq Al Mafraq5.246,783Mafraq Mafraq57,118
Karak Al Karak6.207,335Karak City Karak City21,678
Jerash Jerash7.156,585Jarash Jarash27,046
Aqaba Muḩāfaz̧at al ‘Aqabah8.139,200Aqaba Aqaba95,048
Madaba Muḩāfaz̧at Mādabā9.131,900Madaba Mādabā82,335
Ma'an Muḩāfaz̧at Ma‘ān10.121,400Ma'an Ma'an50,350
Tafielah Muḩāfaz̧at aţ Ţafīlah11.89,400At Tafilah Aţ Ţafīlah25,429
Ajlun Ajloun12.55,000'Ajlun ‘Ajlūn125,557